Charlinder is full of surprises.

Week 3 of Charlinder’s virtual book tour is at a close. This means it’s 75% over. This makes me a little sad, but all good things must come to an end.

Wakela keeps it quick and simple:

I loved the imagery that was provided in this story.  Plus some of the encounters that Charlinder had a long the way really caused me to stop and think.

Pavarti at My Life of Books & Beauty takes her time in expressing her thoughts:

 The question though, is whether the price is too high.  I for one would always rather know the truth, the reality of the situation.  But that’s not to say I’m impervious to the cruelty that reality can sometimes present.  But in a quest, the grand scale holy grail kind of quest, the ultimate prize is  held out as being worth any difficulty.

Kristin at Lives to Read gives us a refreshing view of what to expect:

 This is not a book that one finishes in one sitting, but the book will remain fresh in the readers’ mind after completion.

Charlinder’s Walk is a book that makes the reader consider important issues and reflect.  Miers’ detail and use of description are excellent.  Her writing is attentive and draws readers into the world she created.

For readers 18 and up.

Kriss at Cabin Goddess gives us a very thoughtful, thorough review in which she notes that Charlinder’s community is a very supportive place to live in the post-Plague world. She has a lot of nice things to say, such as:

I am giving this book FIVE stars on the writing and complexity of a tale that flows so well and so beautifully. For the different voices that spoke to me and I could hear. For poetic beauty she wove throughout the book.

This is noteworthy:

I would not let anyone young read it because the sex scenes are just to graphic. Necessary to the story for sure but much and to graphic for a young adult read.

(emphasis mine)

However, there’s something about my handling of religious issues that rubs her the wrong way. She very tantalizingly ends with a quote from Gentiola, whose talking point Charlinder does not take lying down.

 Sean Keefer at The Trust Blog gives us a fabulously well-constructed review. He ends with these two excellent paragraphs:

I found the book to be a breath of fresh air in a genre that all to quickly can become cliché.  Using a little walk around the globe as a method to paint a canvas showing a possible society of the future is completely different and works quite well.

Go out and pick up a copy and give it a read.  Encourage a couple of friends to do the same. Aside from the well-crafted fiction you will find between the covers, you can rest assured that once you and your friends have finished, you will find yourself discussing the themes that Miers raises.  That, in my humble opinion, is what sets a book apart from the ordinary – wanting to talk about it when you are done.

 Laurisa at 1000 Wrongs hosts an interview, in which I share this:

I figured out pretty soon that I could keep on trying for years to get a book deal with a publishing house, or I could actually put my story out there in readers’ hands. The decision to self-publish was a “get busy living” move.

I will conclude this week’s round-up with this review by Carrie at Views From Nature, which has a special place in my deviant little heart. I want you to hit the link and read the whole thing to see what is so awesome about it, but I will quote this much:

Eileen was one of the original survivors and documented many of the struggles and issues faced by the remaining members of the human race. I liked being given those views into the past. Eileen’s voice came through as authentic. She held her own beliefs and would not be compromised.

The honey badger was not yet a meme at the time I wrote the book, but the phrase “honey badger don’t care” might pop into your head when you see Eileen having her say.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

